- a festival that (never) takes place


Can the story about a piece of art, become the piece of art? - and can the story about an event constitute the reality of the event itself?


These questions are the subject of the imaginary sound-art festival Curatorium – a curatorial non-event celebrated on an annual basis. 


Løkkegaard founded the Curatorium due to his interest in how narratives are capable of constituting reality, and how the narrative metasphere can be a space for artistic action in what could be described as curatorial times. 

The Curatorium of 2016 & 2017 took place in Copenhagen and presented a variety of international sound-artists from across the world. The platform on which the Curatorium unfolds itself is divided in two:

1) program - posters with the Curatorium line-up are hung up around the city 

2) The imaginary pieces of the involved artists are posted as written narratives on the Curatorium facebook site;


The Curatorium takes action and transforms the curatorial space into a space for artistic intervention and direct action.

The program of the festival, the story about the festival and stories about the imaginary pieces becomes the piece of art itself. The audience becomes the creator due to the fact that they have to imagine the pieces themselves. 


The line up of the Curatorium 2016: 

Jacob Kirkegaard (DK), Niels Lyhne Løkkegaard (DK), Lisa Tahara (DK/JP), Sandra Boss (DK), Claus Haxholm (DK), Jexper Holmen (DK), Marcela Lucatelli (BR), Tobias Kirstein (DK), Ragnhild May (DK), Toke Tietze Mortensen (DK), Cammisa Buerhaus (US), Anders Lauge Meldgaard (DK), Susanne Højbjerrg Nielsen (DK), Kristoffer Raasted (DK), Zeno van den Broek (NL), Jonas Olesen (DK)


The line up of the Curatorium 2017: 

Anja Jacobsen (DK), Michael Pisaro (US), Adam Basanta (CA), Felia Gram - Hanssen (DK), Ea Borre (DK), Johannes Richter (DK/DE), Ursula Nistrup (DK), Xenia Xamanek Lopez (DK/HN), Luke Martin (US), Simon Steen-Andersen (DK), Carolyn Chen (US), Amnon Wolman, Jeppe Just Christensen (DK), Veronica Mota (MX/D), Andreas Führer (DK).