Study of the major third (No. 1) 2017

The compostion was commissioned by American violinist Erik Carlson in 2017.

The major third is a keystone in western music theory and is artifically high pitched according to the tempered scale which is heavily embedded within western culture as well.

In this piece the major third is approached from a microtonal perspective, and thereby the normativity and cultural aspects of the major third is exposed.

Study of the major third (No. 1). is the first piece in a series of pieces revoling around the major third.

Other works in this series are:

Tableaux du son (2017)

A major third consists of nine different notes (2018)

Egis Ce Asc (2019)